What You Need to Know about the Housing Choice Voucher Program

Getting To Know Section 8: From Application To Approval

(AscendHealthy.com) – About 8.5 million people in urban and rural America and another 1.5 million in small and rural America depend on federal aid to survive. Very low-income families and elderly or disabled individuals can get housing assistance through the Housing Choice Voucher Program. The program is often referred to as Section 8 or HUD housing.

What Is the Housing Choice Voucher Program?

The Housing Choice Voucher Program is the federal government’s most extensive housing assistance program. The program, administered by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), offers individuals and families the opportunity to find apartments in the area that meet their needs and HUD standards. The government then provides a grant to help the member pay the rent.

Funds are distributed to Section 8 participants through Public Housing Agencies, and eligibility is based on total annual income and household size. HUD requires PHAs to ensure that at least 75% of their participants are in the area income bracket of 30% or less. The program is limited to US citizens and non-citizens with permanent immigration status. Temporary and unauthorized immigrants are generally not eligible.

How It Works

These are the steps involved in obtaining Section 8 benefits:

Application Process

Participants apply to the program through their Public Housing Agency (PHA), and HUD provides a search tool to find a PHA. The application is based on need, with the priority list given to those homeless or living in sub-standard housing and those who pay more than 50 percent of their rental income.

Finding Housing

Participants apply to the program through their Public Housing Agency (PHA), and HUD provides a search tool to find a PHA. Often, the number of people seeking affordable housing exceeds the resources available to the PHA for the region. It is not unusual for individuals to be put on a waiting list. Once an individual or family has been selected to receive it. Support from Section 8 encourages them to consider various housing options to find the best housing for their needs. PHA will calculate the amount of rental service available to ensure that the remaining rent does not exceed 30%.

Suitable housing options include single-family homes, apartments, and more.

For a participant to rent a home through the program, the owner must agree to provide housing for Section 8. The building must meet the program’s quality standards. The PHA must approve the setting chosen by the participant. Once the participant enters into a lease agreement with the tenant, the deposit will need to be paid separately, as well as deposits and monthly fees for special services.

How the Subsidy is Paid

PHA will enter into a housing assistance lease agreement with the landlord for the same period as the tenant’s lease. The landlord will pay the monthly fees, with the tenant responsible for paying any remaining balance.

How Eligibility Is Determined

During the application process, the participant must provide information about family, citizenship status, family income, and assets. They will use this information to decide on the priority of the request based on the current state of the home or the problem (they are not suddenly removed) and how much of your income is spent on housing.

As a reminder, eligibility requirements for the program include:

  1. Status of citizenship

2. Financial situation

3. Family Status

4. Eviction history

Remember, many people are applying for this program. Early application is recommended to reduce your waiting time. Contact your local PHA to learn more.

Copyright 2022, AscendHealthy.com